top of page
  • Writer's pictureMolly Cole

Bloody mother fucking asshole sits down for brunch

Upon first glance

Things seem to be settling

A rebuild of some sort.

The clatter of silverware is just a minor worry

The shaking wine bottle

A mere jostle

But ever so quickly

As quickly as it ended

The foundations whine and shake

And crumble

Right through the heart

Right through the table and into the dirt of the earth

Revealing much more damage than was once presumed


Lifting a glass of water takes more effort than a sideways glance does

A sideways glance

Is blocked by an inability to stand it.

To stand the shame and humiliation

To stand the anxiety and anger

To stand the face crumbling tears that fall as I walk home

You hunch and stand

it seems so simply

You stand beside him

acting as if

Attachment to him means forgiveness

It means being partially involved

But nothing more


I will not meet your eye as I would not meet a ghosts'

I will not settle in your presence as I would a friend

I will not explain the sorrows and grievances that have made me the better person I became

Because you will take no explanation

You will take only poisoned presence

Understatements of the year

And nonchalant "whats the deals"

Or else what do you expect?

Maybe a hug? A warm meal?

You will not get me like that ever again

And somewhere in me

I hope it hurts to see my love flow elsewhere

Overshadowing any minute of the love I gave you


Today, seeing you made me sick!

It sent me teetering into a void I thought I'd found my way out of

It left me shaking like a leaf long after I'd first seen you

You dont deserve to walk around blamelessly

You dont deserve to sit and stand and talk so calmly

I keep wanting to punish you

With cruel cutting words

Because I think you deserve it

But I dont deserve to spew out the hatred you created in me.

I deserve only the love I have given myself in your absence

The love you could not give me

I hugged and cradled my broken heart like you said you would


I have no interest in "catching up"

If you'd like to know what I've been doing

You know where to find that.

I've always been an open book

Which is why I hurt so much

And why I've come so far

And why it still hurts

to be in a place

Filled with murmurs and quivers of memories

I'd like to tell you how pathetic I find you

How deceiving you are

And really discuss the lack of what's hiding behind your eyes

Despite fear and judgment


Maybe over coffee, I can explain how you ripped the romance from my loins

Before it had time to flower

Maybe with a splash of milk, I'll add in how meaningless you've made me feel

And when I cut into my hashbrown

And splatter ketchup on your 400-dollar jacket

It'll be a reminder that you'll never get to treat me that way again

A stain of great importance

Because you won't get a chance

You won't get more than a glance.

With every bite

I'm removing you from my life

Gobbling up the meaning you squeezed from me

Wiping my plate clean

Like my good conscience

Respectfully taking my leave

As it sinks in that the bill you are left with

Is much higher than what you are prepared to pay.


15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page