top of page
  • Writer's pictureMolly Cole

Heartbreak Hotel

I went back to the place where heartbreak goes to die

Your name is written in slander all over the bathroom walls

And 15 minutes later you show your face

The air sucked out of the room

Heart breaks all over again

From memories of when it cracked


If Haruki taught me anything

It was to always sit at the bar

And I am still learning that

I've stolen glasses before

I've snuck a handful of limes


Life is good in a way I can't describe

Won't be able to until its past

I dont think I really know anything

Only how much it hurts to relive it all

To be racked of air

To hurt so bad you can only laugh

To honestly wish you were dead

Because you've done so much damage

You stamped it out

By turning away

Actually, you didn't even stamp it out

You left it to burn and everything caught fire


Say something

Say anything

Or die

That's the rules

Say it all or nothing

Dont be a coward

You cant understand

How not misunderstood you are

You are tragically predictable

Just like everyone else

You're just good at pretending

Grabbing all the bullshit you can muster

You turn yourself into a shadow.


I leave the dimly lit bar before you do and that is the worst thing you've ever done to me

I shrink in your presence but dream that I rip out your heart and eat it

you've lost so much time and you don't even know it

you'll never get back what you threw away

I will always remember how you broke me

and that is my greatest skill

because I put it all together again

and you are the one who will crumble in the end.

just because you sheltered yourself from damage

does not mean you get to miss the explosion.



16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page